Utah Valley Global Health Group

A blog about global health for those living in Utah Valley and their friends.

EpiInfo, SAS, Stata, SPSS

Posted by chads on June 4, 2008

We recently had the following discussion via email, and thought it might be useful to post it for everyone:

I’m fairly new to data management and analysis. I’m currently learning Epi Info for a project, and I know that I’ll be using STATA for BioStats this fall. I just wanted to get a “real-life” feel for which programs have been most useful and/or which are used the most. How often do you use Epi Info? STATA? SPSS? Which, would you say, is most useful? Which should I spend the most time learning? Any other advice?

Kirk Dearden: “I’d avoid EpiInfo. It has some advantages (e.g., it’s free and you can use it to calculate sample size and calculate Z scores for nutritional status) but I find it very cumbersome all around–even for data entry. For data entry I’ve switched to Excel–at least that’s the program I’ve used in my training of aid workers. It too has problems. Better options for more serious data analysis are epihandy (if you’ve got a PDA) and CSPro–both free of charge and much more manageable.

Which software package is best for data analysis is the subject of debate the world over! Of course the big three are SPSS, Stata and SAS. SPSS is great for graphics but I find it too easy to use the menus to conduct analyses. Using menus limits what you can do and–in my mind–is a crutch. SAS is the most powerful of the three though for what any of us is doing, these differences are really negligible. I like Stata because it is very interactive and intuitive. So, I’d say SAS or Stata.”

Ben Crookston: “As for data management and analysis, I think Kirk summed it up quite well. I use SAS a majority of the time, but do use Stata on occasion. If you only plan to do general analyses and don’t intend to do a lot of data management (cleaning, shaping, restructuring, etc.) then I would learn Stata and stick with it. Because I do a lot of data management, I prefer SAS.”

11 Responses to “EpiInfo, SAS, Stata, SPSS”

  1. Muy Buenas

    Requiero el SPSS para la realizacion de un trabajo de investigacion en la altura por favor lo requiero URGENTE

    Atte

    richards

  2. Djiby said

    une formation SPSS et EPI INFO

  3. asmaa said

    need this spss

  4. asmaa said

    need spss

  5. John said

    I ‘ve been in the field of data management & statistical data analysis for over 10 years using SAS, SPSS, STATA, EPI-info, STAPac GOLD, Clintrial, FilemakerPro, Minitab, SPLUS e.t.c. Contrary to what Kirk Dearden said. EPI-Info happen tobe the best in managing data entry except when you are not sure of the definitions of your variables, better still if you are not deaing with very large data size or your priority is not error free entry. You can then export to other packages for analysis e.g SAS, SPSS, Gold or SPLUS these three are wonderful.

    • Kemone said

      I’m doing a research and I am only learning how to use both SPSS and Epi Info now….can anyone tell me if there is a specialized data capturing functionality in SPSS? My lecturer tend to think that one of the disadvantages of SPSS is that there is no specialized functionality for data capturing…..ur comments or answers will be greatly appreciated….thank you so much

    • wudi said

      thank you John said and plz if you can contact me by my eamil wudimulat@yahoo.com

  6. SPSS all the way. EPI Info is good but the interface is boring and can put you off while entering data.

  7. Somos fabricantes de equipamentos de pintura, temos o melhor preço do brasil em Cadeira de pintura, epi e muito mais, 11-3228-6015…

    […]EpiInfo, SAS, Stata, SPSS « Utah Valley Global Health Group[…]…

  8. Kemone said

    I’m doing a research and I am only learning how to use both SPSS and Epi Info now….can anyone tell me if there is a specialized data capturing functionality in SPSS? My lecturer tend to think that one of the disadvantages of SPSS is that there is no specialized functionality for data capturing…..ur comments or answers will be greatly appreciated….thank you so much

  9. mayanja lawrence said

    mayanja lawrence
    from my experience spss is easier to use than Epi lnfo and also spss is readily available and accesible.

Leave a Reply

 
