Utah Valley Global Health Group

A blog about global health for those living in Utah Valley and their friends.

Looking for volunteers

Posted by kdearden on April 21, 2008

If any of you are interested in volunteer work–especially related to infant and young child nutrition and/or emergency situations, let me know. I have a project that may be of interest to you. I can only accept 2 or 3 volunteers. You can do this work at home (sorry, no exotic travel involved).

BACKGROUND:

I teach at Boston University’s school of public health and was at BYU teaching international health until August of 2007. I am currently consulting with CARE to develop a manual on infant and young child feeding in emergency situations. While CARE is producing the manual, it is really meant for a variety of implementing organizations (UN Agencies and NGOs in particular). There has already been a tremendous interest in the Guide and we haven’t even finished it yet!

The Guide is designed to help local staff from implementing organizations (e.g., UN Agencies and NGOs) manage, clean, analyze and use information on infant feeding behaviors. The Guide helps them report on standard infant feeding indicators (for example, % of infants exclusively breastfed, dietary diversity and so on). There are lots of ‘how-to’ books out there but few that help walk individuals through the process of entering, managing and analyzing data.

I need 2-3 students who would be interested in reviewing the Guide (in detail). It would probably take 20 hours over several weeks. The work can get tedious but on the other hand, I think reviewers could benefit from some of the contents including some great things that can be done in Excel.

If you’re interested in this opportunity, let me know and I’ll send you the materials. I’ll also correspond with you by email to walk you through the process.

Thanks!

Kirk Dearden

4 Responses to “Looking for volunteers”

  1. Andrea Peacock said

    Dr. Dearden,
    What is your contact information? I’d like to find out more about what reviewing this guide entails. My email address is andrea.peacock@gmail.com and my phone number is 801-717-0288. Thanks!

  2. Jan Stucki Wilson said

    I’m also interested in helping with this. I have some related experience that might help. You can reach me at stucki@xmission.com. Thanks.

  3. Saia Hafoka said

    I’m also interested in helping with the guide. I’d also like to know more about what I need to do; I don’t have any experience in reviewing guides/articles and such. My email address is saiahafoka@yahoo.com. Thanks.

  4. Kirk Dearden said

    I forgot to leave my contact info: kdearden@gmail.com. Thanks! Kirk

Leave a Reply

 
